General Links

General Links – INDEX
  • Helpful Tools
  • Helpful Individuals
  • Spiritual and/or Metaphysical
  • Campaigns for Change
  • Petitions
  • Human Rights
  • Abuse, Violence, Crime
  • Memory
  • Trauma
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Response – PTSR (commonly called PTSD/PTS Disorder)
 
Disclaimer: Although I do my best to screen the content of these links to ensure they are legitimate, accurate and safe, I do not claim to agree with or condone everything that is in these links, and I am not responsible for their content or any triggers they may contain. Please be cautious with them, and always make your own decisions about their value to you.
 

 

Helpful Tools

Center for Nonviolent Communication – compassionate communication: the language of peace – cnvc.org
 
Playback Theatre – improv theatre for change – playbacktheatre.org with International Network – playbacknet.org
 
Lifespan Integration – connecting ego states through time – lifespanintegration.com
 
The Chopra Center – balance, heal, transform – includes meditations and on-line library – chopra.com
 
Chopra Foundation – dedicated to helping create a peaceful, just, sustainable and healthy world – choprafoundation.org New Friends New Life – transforming the lives of women and their children – newfriendsnewlife.org
 
 
 

Helpful Individuals

Dr. Christiane Northrup – leading authority in the field of women’s health and wellness – drnorthrup.com
 
Dr. Peter Breggin – author and leader in psychiatric education and reform – breggin.com
Gayle D’Ambrosio-Crabtree – Hope for Healing – hopeforhealing.org and Voices of Hope – blogtalkradio.com
 
 
 

Spiritual and/or Metaphysical

Louise L. Hay – metaphysical healing author and leader – louisehay.com and hayhouse.com
 
Deepak Chopra – physician, author and leader in mind body spirit health and healing education – deepakchopra.com
 
Wayne Dyer – author and speaker in the field of self-development – drwaynedyer.com
 
The Sacred Tree and other First Nations spirituality-related art formsweb.viu.ca/firstnations
 
The Review of Metaphysics – a philosophical quarterly – reviewofmetaphysics.org
 
Silent Unity Prayer Resource – live people, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year – for over 100 years – unity.org
 
 
 

Campaigns for Change

The Suppressed Histories Archives – restoring women to cultural memory – suppressedhistories.net
 
WanttoKnow.Info – connects the dots for those who want to know – wanttoknow.info
 
Fierce Love – documentary filmmaker and “spiritual media activist” Velcrow Ripper – fiercelove.wordpress.com
 
Psychologists for Social Responsibility – building cultures of peace with social justice –psysr.org
 
Sojourners – faith in action for social justice – sojo.net
 
Common Dreams – building progressive community – commondreams.org
 
Peace Women – a project of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom – peacewomen.org
 
 
 

Petitions

Petitions at change.org – the world’s petition platform

 
 
 

Human Rights

United for Human Rights – making human rights a fact – humanrights.com
 
Human Rights Watch – dedicated to defending and protecting human rights – hrw.org
 
Physicians for Human Rights – using science and medicine to stop human rights violations – physiciansforhumanrights.org
 
Center for Constitutional Rights – based in US Constitution and Universal Declaration of Human Rights – ccrjustice.org
 
The Elders – independent global leaders working together for peace and human rights – theelders.org
 
Electronic Frontier Foundation – defending your rights in the digital world – eff.org/deeplinks/2011
 
International Center Against Abuse of Covert Technologies – for victims of electronic terrorism worldwide – icaact.org
 
 
 

Abuse, Violence, Crime

Restorative Justice – theory of justice for repairing harm caused or revealed by criminal behaviour – restorativejustice.org
 
Eighteen and Under – confidential support, info, online chat, and more, for anyone under 18 who has experienced sexual, physical or emotional abuse – 18u.org.uk
 
Signs of Emotional Abuse – what it is and what to look for  –morningsiderecovery.com
 
What is Spiritual Abuse? – a definition – spiritualabuse.org
 
Stop Child Abuse – child abuse, trafficking, extreme abuse survivor speech – childabusedata.blogspot.com
 
National Association for People Abused in Childhood – UK support and info – napac.org.uk
 
ASCA – adults surviving child abuse – Australia support, education, advocacy and training programs – asca.org.au
 
SNAP – survivors’ network of those abused by priests – healing, prevention and justice – snapnetwork.org
 
Restoration in Christ Ministries – training and support for those called to restore lives shattered by abuse – rcm-usa.org
 
Stop Child Sexual Abuse – to expose and stop Child Sexual Abuse (CSA) and help survivors heal – stopcsa.org
 
Rigorous Intuition – what you don’t know can’t hurt them – rigorousintuition.ca
 
B.C. Ending Violence Association – supports victim-serving and anti-violence programs in BC – endingviolence.org
 
V-Day Foundation – global activist movement to end violence against women and girls – vday.org
 
Articles about Abuse
Web MD – Brain Development Harmed in Mistreated Kidschildren.webmd.com/news
 
Recovered Memories of Sexual Abuse: Scientific Research & Scholarly Resourcesjimhopper.com
 
 
 

Memory

The Human Memory – what it is, how it works, how it can go wrong – human-memory.net
 
How Stuff Works – website with multi-disciplinary spectrum of information – howstuffworks.com
 
Articles about Memory
Recovered Memories of Sexual Abuse: Scientific Research & Scholarly Resources jimhopper.com
 
 
 

Trauma

Trauma Symptom Inventory – John Briere, Ph.D. – johnbriere.com
 
David Baldwin’s Trauma Information Pages – award winning site – trauma-pages.com
  • external links – to research on trauma and related psychology and medical info
  • about trauma – trauma and PTSD symptoms, responses and coping strategies
  • trauma support – information about types of trauma, trauma responses, ways of coping with stress, treatment approaches, and related mental health issues
 
Psychological Impacts of Trauma (DID) – information and resources for survivors, therapists and others – ra-info.org
 
International Violence, Abuse and Trauma Center – international resource and training center – ivatcenters.org
 
Sidran Institute – helping people understand, manage and treat trauma and dissociation – sidran.org
 
International Society for the Study of Trauma and Dissociation (ISSTD) – FAQ index – isst-d.org/education
 
Healthcare Toolbox – guide to helping children and families cope with illness and injury – healthcaretoolbox.org/index
 
Abacus Training Services – UK training for working with trauma abuse survivors – abacustrainingservices.co.uk
 
Trauma Research Center, Inc. – child abuse recovery, trauma and dissociation-related articles – 22faces.com
 
Articles about Trauma
Trauma and Recovery: The Aftermath of Violence and related articles by Judith Herman MDjimhopper.com/trauma
 
 
 

Post Traumatic Stress Response – PTSR 

(commonly called Post Traumatic Stress Disorder or PTSD)

PTSD Information – conquer the past. create the future. – healmyptsd.com
 
Third of a Lifetime – curated PTSD resources – thirdofalifetime.com
 
US Department of Veterans Affairs – National Center for PTSDptsd.va.gov
 
Veterans Information – PTSD – links, videos, checklists and measurement tools – veteransinfo.org
 
United Children of Veterans – information on PTSD in children of war veterans – unitedchildrenofveterans.com
 
Articles about PTS – Post Traumatic Stress
Study Links Asthma with Post Traumatic Stressnews-medical.net